Business > Economic Development > Town History

Town History

In 1793, Eli Terry began making clocks in Plymouth,

a craft carried on by his three sons, notably Eli Terry Jr., for whom Terryville was named. The 1830's here saw the beginning of lock making, which became a major enterprise with the formation of the Eagle Lock Company in 1854, active until it closed in 1975.


Buttermilk Falls


Buttermilk Falls, with its 100 foot water falls attracts hundreds of hikers and visitors. This large stream of water running through a rock formation, ends with the falls, one of the highest natural waterfalls in the state. The stream of water, falls and approximately 12 acres of land have been preserved as the Buttermilk Falls Land Preserve.This is a magnificent waterfall and very picturesque. Water falls down a steep ledge and into a gorge surrounded by hemlocks. There are many cascades both above and below the falls. The falls are located on land owned by the Nature Conservancy.


Plymouth has a strong community spirit,

like many other towns on the Naugatuck River. The Lions and Rotary Clubs, as well as church and school groups, work with the families in the villages and countryside. The town's Little League fields, Lake Winfield and Mattatuck State Forest, are among the cherished recreational grounds supported by the townspeople.